You are here

Structure of the Bebras Community

The Bebras Community is an association of organizations which are involved with informatics and educational activities in this area.


The members of the Bebras Community are organizations responsible for running a national Bebras Challenge in their country. A member organization of the Bebras Community is referred to as National Bebras Organizer (NBO). There may be only one NBO per country.

The Bebras Community requires an NBO (among other duties mentioned later on)

  •  to have expertise in the area of informatics education, nationally or internationally;
  •  to annually organise a national Bebras Challenge in its country;
  •  to promote the national Bebras Challenge and provide the resources necessary to make the challenge available to as many young people in the country as possible;
  •  to make visible to the public that their national activities are part of the international activities of the Bebras Community, and to provide a website that can be used by the Bebras Community to point to the NBOs national activities;
  •  to provide a contact person and contact data for permanent liaisons with the Bebras Community; and
  •  to annually report about its activities to the Bebras Community.

The International Bebras Committee (IBC) is composed of NBO representatives. During the International Bebras Workshop, all NBO delegates are considered IBC members. For all IBC actions to be taken in between the workshops, each NBO nominates one representative as a voting member of the IBC.

The IBC is the main decision body of the Bebras Community. Among its duties are

  •  to decide about NBO membership, including suspension and dismissal;
  •  to decide about changes to the statutes, including appendices;
  •  to decide about guidelines for the work of the Bebras Community;
  •  to elect members of other Bebras Community bodies, as well as office-bearers.

Members of IBC:


Australia Nicolette    Venn CSIRO Lithuania Valentina Dagienė Vilnius University, Vilnius
Austria Gerald Futschek

 Austrian Computer Society,


Macedonia Bojan Kostadinov Computer Society of Macedonia
Azerbaijan Adil Aliyev ACM chapter Azerbaijan Malaysia Khairul Anwar M. Zaki Beaver Informatics Malaysia Secretariat
Belarus Iryna Kirynovich Belarusian State University of Informatics and Radioelectronics New Zealand Margot Phillipps Logic Plus
Belgium Sébastien Combéfis  ECAM, Brussels Pakistan Alla Ditta Raza Choudary Kangourou Sans Frontières – Pakistan
Bulgaria Emil Kelevedjiev   Union of Bulgarian Mathematicians (UBM) Poland Maciej M. Sysło Nicolaus Copernicus University, Toruń
Bosnia and Herzegovina Haris Gavranovic Bosnian Science Center Romania Raluca Constantinescu ECDL ROMANIA under the authority of The Association for Information Technology and Communications of Romania
Canada Troy Vasiga

Centre for Education in Mathematics and Computing (CEMC), Waterloo

Russian Federation Sergej Pozdniakov Saint Petersburg State University
Croatia Lidija Kralj NGO "Suradnici u učenju" (Partners in Learning) Serbia Milan Rajković Informacione tehnologije – Udruženje profesora Srbije- (IT-UPS)
Cyprus Panicos Masouras Cyprus Computer Society Singapore Henry Ong Singapore International Math Contests Centre (SIMCC)
Czechia Jiří Vaníček University of South Bohemia, České Budějovice Slovakia Peter Tomcsányi Comenius-University, Bratislava
Estonia Ahto Truu University of Tartu, Tartu Slovenia Andrej Brodnik ACM Slovenija
Finland Timo T. Poranen

School of Information Sciences University

of Tampere, Tampere

South Africa Pieter Waker South African Computer Olympiad Trust
France Mathias Hiron France-IOI, Paris South Korea Kim Dong Yoon The Korea Institute of Information Scientists and Engineers
Germany Wolfgang Pohl BWINF, Bonn Spain Javier Bilbao University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU)
Hungary Zsuzsa Pluhár

Faculty of Informatics Eötvös Loránd

University, Budapest

Sweden Fredrik Heintz Bebras Sweden
Iceland Arnheidur Gudmundsdottir Sky – Skyrslutaeknifelag Islands (The Icelandic Computer Society) Switzerland Christian Datzko SVIA-SSIE-SSII, Hirzel
Indonesia Inggriani Liem TOKI Taiwan Greg Lee National Taiwan Normal University, Taipei City
Iran Hamed Mohebbi Fatemi Cultural Institute The Netherlands Eljakim Schrijvers Stichting Informatica Olympiade, Etten
Ireland Gillian Harty ICS Foundation Turkey Yasemin Gülbahar Ankara University
Italy Mattia Monga  The University of Milan, Milan UK Chris Roffey University of Oxford (and Hertford College, Oxford)
Japan Seiichi Tani The Japanese Committee for the IOI, Tokyo Ukraine Rostyslav Shpakovich Physics and Mathematics Lyceum, Lviv
Latvia Laura Briviba   VISMA USA Eljakim Schrijvers USA Bebras Challenge




Algeria Al AWAEL school of education and learning Kazakhstan  Ministry of Education and Science of the Republic of Kazakhstan
Brazil Sociedade Brasileira de Computação Malta Ministry for Education and Employment Department of Curriculum Management, Science Centre

Beijing Bebras Culture Communication Co. Ltd.


Mongolian Olympiads in Informatics


Arab Academy for Science, Technology Maritime Transport – AAST Regional Informatics Center

Nigeria National Mathematical Sciences Centre
Greece University of the Aegean Norway

Bebras Norge

Hong Kong STEM in Action Portugal  University of Porto (Computer Science Department, Faculty of Science)

ACM India


Faculty of Information Technology, King Mongkut's Institute of Technology Ladkrabang

Israel Davidson institute of Science Education Tunisia ITA “Informatics Tunisian Association”
Jordan Bright Minds Tech Vietnam  GEDTECH - CERA, University of Education, Vietnam National University


The Bebras Board is the executive body of the Bebras Community. It is responsible for all ongoing business of the Bebras Community. Among the duties of the Bebras Board are:

  •  to deal with membership issues such as receiving applications, checking with NBOs for satisfaction of NBO requirements, suggesting suspensions or dismissals of membership to the IBC;
  •  to find hosts for upcoming International Bebras Workshops;
  •  to support workshop hosts;
  •  to manage financial issues as being related to the international operations of the Bebras Community;
  •  to prepare proposals for changes to the statutes;
  •  to report to the IBC with at least one written summary of all activities per year.

Chair                  Valentina Dagienė, Vilnius university, Lithuania
Members            Wolfgang Pohl, BWINF, Germany
                          Willem van der Vegt, The Netherlands
                          Andrej Brodnik, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
                          Violetta Lonati, University of Milan, Italy
                          Panicos Masouras, Cyprus Computer Society, Cyprus
                          Sarah Hobson, CSIRO, Australia


More information in the Bebras Community Statutes (download).