You are here

Structure of the Bebras Community

The Bebras Community is an association of organizations which are involved with informatics and educational activities in this area.


The members of the Bebras Community are organizations responsible for running a national Bebras Challenge in their country. A member organization of the Bebras Community is referred to as National Bebras Organizer (NBO). There may be only one NBO per country.

The Bebras Community requires an NBO (among other duties mentioned later on)

  •  to have expertise in the area of informatics education, nationally or internationally;
  •  to annually organise a national Bebras Challenge in its country;
  •  to promote the national Bebras Challenge and provide the resources necessary to make the challenge available to as many young people in the country as possible;
  •  to make visible to the public that their national activities are part of the international activities of the Bebras Community, and to provide a website that can be used by the Bebras Community to point to the NBOs national activities;
  •  to provide a contact person and contact data for permanent liaisons with the Bebras Community; and
  •  to annually report about its activities to the Bebras Community.

The International Bebras Committee (IBC) is composed of NBO representatives. During the International Bebras Workshop, all NBO delegates are considered IBC members. For all IBC actions to be taken in between the workshops, each NBO nominates one representative as a voting member of the IBC.

The IBC is the main decision body of the Bebras Community. Among its duties are

  •  to decide about NBO membership, including suspension and dismissal;
  •  to decide about changes to the statutes, including appendices;
  •  to decide about guidelines for the work of the Bebras Community;
  •  to elect members of other Bebras Community bodies, as well as office-bearers.

Full members of IBC:


Australia Allira Crowe CSIRO – Digital Careers Lithuania Valentina Dagienė Vilnius University, Vilnius
Austria Gerald Futschek

 Austrian Computer Society,


Malaysia Khairul Anwar M. Zaki Beaver Informatics Malaysia Secretariat
Azerbaijan Adil Aliyev ACM chapter Azerbaijan Netherlands Eljakim Schrijvers Stichting Informatica Olympiade, Etten
Belarus Iryna Kirynovich Belarusian State University of Informatics and Radioelectronics New Zealand Margot Phillipps Logic Plus
Belgium Sébastien Combéfis  ECAM, Brussels North Macedonia Bojan Kostadinov Computer Society of Macedonia
Bulgaria Emil Kelevedjiev   Union of Bulgarian Mathematicians (UBM) Pakistan Alla Ditta Raza Choudary Kangourou Sans Frontières – Pakistan
Bosnia and Herzegovina Haris Gavranovic Bosnian Science Center Poland Maciej M. Sysło Nicolaus Copernicus University, Toruń
China Yuqin Jiang Beijing Bebras Culture Communication Co. Ltd. Portugal Pedro Ribeiro University of Porto (Computer Science Department, Faculty of Science)
Canada Troy Vasiga

Centre for Education in Mathematics and Computing (CEMC), Waterloo

Romania Raluca Constantinescu ECDL ROMANIA under the authority of The Association for Information Technology and Communications of Romania
Croatia Lidija Kralj NGO "Suradnici u učenju" (Partners in Learning) Russian Federation Sergej Pozdniakov Saint Petersburg State University
Cyprus Panicos Masouras Cyprus Computer Society Serbia Milan Rajković Informacione tehnologije – Udruženje profesora Srbije- (IT-UPS)
Czechia Jiří Vaníček University of South Bohemia, České Budějovice Singapore Henry Ong Singapore International Math Contests Centre (SIMCC)
Egypt Eslam Mohamed Wageed Arab Academy for Science, Technology Maritime Transport – AAST Regional Informatics Center Slovakia Comenius-University, Bratislava
Estonia Ahto Truu University of Tartu, Tartu Slovenia Andrej Brodnik    ACM Slovenija
Finland Heikki Hyyrö

Faculty of Information Technology and Communication Sciences, Tampere University

South Africa Pieter Waker South African Computer Olympiad Trust
France Mathias Hiron France-IOI, Paris South Korea Kim Dong Yoon The Korea Institute of Information Scientists and Engineers
Germany Wolfgang Pohl BWINF, Bonn Spain Javier Bilbao University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU)
Hungary Zsuzsa Pluhár

Faculty of Informatics, Eötvös Loránd University, Budapest

Sweden Arnold Pears KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Iceland Arnheidur Gudmundsdottir Sky – Skyrslutaeknifelag Islands (The Icelandic Computer Society) Switzerland Nora A. Escherle SVIA-SSIE-SSII, Schweizerische Vereinigung für Informatik in der Ausbildung
Indonesia Inggriani Liem TOKI Taiwan Greg Lee National Taiwan Normal University, Taipei City
India Vipul Shah  ACM India Thailand Bundit Thanasopon Faculty of Information Technology, King Mongkut's Institute of Technology Ladkrabang
Iran Hamed Mohebbi Fatemi Cultural Institute Turkey Yasemin Gülbahar Ankara University
Ireland Gillian Harty ICS Foundation UK Chris Roffey University of Oxford (and Hertford College, Oxford)
Italy Mattia Monga  The University of Milan, Milan Ukraine Rostyslav Shpakovich Physics and Mathematics Lyceum, Lviv
Japan Seiichi Tani The Japanese Committee for the IOI, Tokyo USA Eljakim Schrijvers USA Bebras Challenge
Latvia Laura Briviba VISMA Vietnam Le Anh Vinh Bebras Vietnam


Provisional members:


Algeria  Al AWAEL school of education and learning Norway  Bebras Norge
Cambodia  Noble Education Co. Ltd. State of Palestine  Palestine Polytechnic University

Dominican Republic

 Sociedad Dominicana de Computacion

Philippines  Asian MathSci League, Inc. (AMSLI)
El Salvador  Programa Jóvenes Talento de El Salvador Saudi Arabia  King Abdulaziz Foundation for Giftedness and Creativity (Mawhiba)
Israel  Davidson institute of Science Education Syria  Commission of Distinction and Creativity (CDC)
Kazakhstan  Republican Scientific and Practical centre Daryn of the Ministry of Education and Science of Republic of Kazakhstan Uruguay  Plan Ceibal
Marocco  Moroccan Assoc. of Digital Trust (Am@N) – Moroccan Olympiads of Informatics Uzbekistan  Competencies Development Center Ltd (CDC)
Niger  AlgoBot-Niger    


The Bebras Board is the executive body of the Bebras Community. It is responsible for all ongoing business of the Bebras Community. Among the duties of the Bebras Board are:

  •  to deal with membership issues such as receiving applications, checking with NBOs for satisfaction of NBO requirements, suggesting suspensions or dismissals of membership to the IBC;
  •  to find hosts for upcoming International Bebras Workshops;
  •  to support workshop hosts;
  •  to manage financial issues as being related to the international operations of the Bebras Community;
  •  to prepare proposals for changes to the statutes;
  •  to report to the IBC with at least one written summary of all activities per year.

Chair of the Bebras Board
Valentina Dagienė, Vilnius university, Lithuania
Members of the Bebras Board
Wolfgang Pohl, BWINF, Germany
    Sébastien Combéfis, ECAM, Belgium 
    Chris Roffey, University of Oxford, UK
    Ahto Truu, University of Tartu, Estonia
    Bronius Skūpas, Vilnius Lyceum, Lithuania

Additional committees:

Task handling committee
- Christian Datzko
- Hamed Mohebbi
- Sébastien Combéfis (board)
- Vipul Shah
- Willem van der Vegt
Membership committee
- J.P. Pretti
- Kim Schrijvers
- Susanne Datzko
- Wolfgang Pohl (board)
Technical committee
- Ahto Truu (board)
- Bronius Skupas (board, workshop host)
- Christian Datzko
- Mathias Hiron
- Mattia Monga
Ad-hoc committee on virtual participation
- Chris Roffey (board)
- Kim Schrijvers
- Susanne Datzko
- Vipul Shah

More information in the Bebras Community Statutes, V. 1.0, 2020 (download).